Headline »

November 1, 2016 – 7:58 am |

Happyzine has been sold! More information soon …
Ever thought about running a good news website? Here’s your chance.
Happyzine.co.nz has been a force for the positive for the last nine years in New Zealand, sharing good …

Read the full story »
Home » Environment, Headline

Aorere, Golden Bay, wins top New Zealand River award

Submitted by on September 24, 2015 – 2:00 am One Comment

Image: tasman.govt.nz

International RiverFoundation has announced four finalists for the first Morgan Foundation New Zealand Riverprize, reflecting the high quality of work that is being undertaken in river restoration across the country.

The four finalists in the 2015 Morgan Foundation New Zealand Riverprize are the Aorere River (Tasman), Lake Taupo (Waikato), the Manawatu River (Manawatu) and Project Twin Streams (Waitakere).

“The finalists are exceptional,” stated Gayle Wood, Chair of the New Zealand Riverprize Judging Panel and former winner of the Thiess International Riverprize.

“They demonstrate the best that New Zealand has to offer in integrated river basin management.  While protecting the country’s rivers and lakes, the finalists all approach their work in unique ways – some are community led partnerships and others are coordinated by the government.  New Zealand should be very proud of this environmental work which ranks among the best in the world.”

The winner of the inaugural New Zealand Riverprize will receive a NZD$20,000 cash prize, generously sponsored by the Morgan Foundation, and will also have a shot at being named the winner of the prestigious Thiess International Riverprize in 2016.

The four finalists will present their achievements at the International Riversymposium in Brisbane in September, with the winner to be announced in front of an international audience of river practitioners at the Riverprize Gala Dinner on Tuesday 22 September.

The Morgan Foundation New Zealand Riverprize is an initiative of the International RiverFoundation, who also award the Australian, European and North American Riverprize as well as the prestigious Thiess International Riverprize – for achieving the best outcomes in river and basin management. The Morgan Foundation is a charitable trust that supports public interest research, conservation projects and social investment, and is an enthusiastic backer of the New Zealand Riverprize. The Foundation was instrumental in setting up New Zealand’s Most Improved Rivers Awards in 2013, which recognises annually the most improved rivers in terms of key water quality indicators.

The New Zealand Riverprize was open to applicants from anywhere in the country who could demonstrate outstanding, visionary and sustainable programs in river management, restoration or protection – regardless of the size of the river of the scale of the project. Applicants were judged by an independent panel of experts in a range of river management fields.

All Riverprize finalists and winners receive recognition and reward for their achievements and join an elite group of Riverprize alumni who are supported to continue their efforts and share their experiences with others.

GD Star Rating
GD Star Rating


One Comment »

Leave a comment!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also Comments Feed via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.